Botswana

Lodging

Camp, bed and breakfast and hotels

Camping

What you can’t miss

Botswana is certainly a paradise for lovers of nature and savage animals. With 42% of the surface of the country classified as National Park or Reserve you only have the problem of choosing. Botswana is also called the country of the elephants. There’s no other place where you’ll find elephants this big and also so many. With a policy of luxury and ecological tourism, travelling to Botswana requires a substantial budget

We give you only a small selection of the most frequented sites. Our proposal will be, as always, 100% tailor-made and adapted to your desires.

Okavango Delta
Moremi Game Reserve
Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Kgadigadi Transfrontier Park / Mabuasehube Section
Chobe Game Reserve
Makgadikgadi Pans
Nxai Pans
Savuti

Activities

Safari, nature and animals are certainly the centers of interest at Botswana. Nevertheless we have unearthed some complementary activities. Don’t hesitate to consult us for your action, sport and adventure program. Please note that we don’t support any activities such as lion-petting, walking with lions or walks on the backs of elephants, or chasing activities.

Fly over the Delta of Okavango
Horseback safaris
Horseback riding
Moroko Safaris
Walking Safaris

Population and Politics

Botswana or the country of elephants. The surface of Botswana is 582 000 km2, 40% of this surface is classified as National Park or Protected Reserve. That makes Botswana the biggest protected country in the world considering the surface of the country. The government of Botswana has understood that eco-tourism is an important income for the country. Since, the protection of nature and fauna is a priority in Botswana.
With only 1.8 to 2 million people Botswana is one of the countries the less populated in the world. Since independence in 1990 Botswana is governed by a government elected democratically. Botswana is known for its political and economical stability.

Weather
The season of rain is October through March. During this period the temperatures are pretty hot, up to 45° with a lot of humidity. During the months of southern winter the medium temperatures are around 25°. The nights are cold to even minus 6 degrees.
Languages
The language of Botswana is the Setswana. The official language is English.
Currency and payment
The Botswana coin is called the PULA. The word pula means “rain” in Setswana. The Pula is independent from the Rand. At the current time we change about 12 Pulas for 1 euro. The payment network by credit card is good enough but a lot less performing than in South Africa. The lack of stability of the resource of internet sometimes creates disturbances. Find information in advance and keep enough money on you, especially to pay for gas.
Health
Risk of Malaria. Please consult your doctor before departure.
Route network
Location of a 4×4 vehicle is necessary for a trip to Botswana. Routes in the national parks are not asphalted. A minimum of knowledge of “off-road” driving is necessary (watchtower, sand and stagnation). Outside the parks the rode network has been very much improved in the last 10 years.

Informations and booking

15 + 10 =

Contact

Mokamoka Safaris

Silke Bergerhoff – Safari Consultant
+ 262 692 30 11 11
sbergerhoff@mokamoka-safaris.com

Jerôme Phoeun – Safari Consultant
+ 262 692 26 77 99
jphoeun@mokamoka-safaris.com

Sélectionner une page

Botswana

Hébergement

Camp, chambres d’hôtes et hôtels

Camping

Les immanquables

Le Botswana est certainement le paradis pour les amoureux de la nature et des animaux sauvages. Avec 42% de la surface du pays classée en Parc National ou Reserve vous n’avez que l’embarras du choix. Le Botswana est aussi appelé le pays des éléphants. Nulle part ailleurs vous trouvez des éléphants en aussi grand nombre. Avec une politique de tourisme de luxe et d’écologique les voyages au Botswana demandent un budget conséquent.

Nous vous mettons seulement une petite sélection des sites les plus fréquentés. Notre proposition sera, comme toujours 100 % sur-mesure et adaptée à vos envies.

Okavango Delta
Moremi Game Reserve
Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Kgadigadi Transfrontier Park / Mabuasehube Section
Chobe Game Reserve
Makgadikgadi Pans
Nxai Pans
Savuti

Activités

Le safari, la nature et les animaux sont certainement les centres d’intérêts au Botswana. Néanmoins nous avons dénichés quelques activités complémentaires. N’hésitez pas à nous consulter pour vos programmes d’action, de sport et de l’aventure. Merci de bien vouloir noter que nous ne supportons en aucun cas des activités comme le « Lionpetting », le « Walking with Lions » ou des Balades sur les dos des éléphants, ni les activités de chasse.

Vol sur le Delta du Okavango
Horseback safaris
Balades à cheval
Moroko Safaris
Walking Safaris

Population et Politique

Botswana ou le pays des éléphants. La surface du Botswana compte 582 000 km2, 40% de cette surface est classée parc national ou réserve protégé. Cela fait du Botswana le pays a la plus grand surface protégé du monde au prorata de la surface du pays. Le gouvernement du Botswana a compris que l’écotourisme est un revenue important pour le pays. Depuis la protection de la nature et de la faune est une priorité au Botswana.

Avec seulement 1.8 a 2 millions d’habitants le Botswana est un des pays les moins peuplés au monde. Depuis l’indépendance en 1990 le Botswana est gouverné par un gouvernement élu démocratiquement. Le Botswana est connu pour sa stabilité politique et économique.

Climat
La saison de pluie est d’octobre à mars. Pendant cette période les températures sont assez chaudes jusqu’à 45° avec beaucoup d’humidité. Pendant les mois d’hiver austral les températures moyens se trouvent aux environs de 25°. Les nuits sont froids jusqu’à moins 6 dégrées.
Langues
La langue de Botswana est le Setswana. La langue officielle est toujours l’anglais.
Monnaie et paiement
La monnaie du Botswana s’appelle le PULA. Le mot pula veut dire « pluie » en setswana. Le pula est indépendant du Rand. Grace à la stabilité du pays le Pula est beaucoup plus fort que le Rand. En ce moment nous changeons environ 12 Pula contre 1 euro. Le réseau de paiement par carte de crédit est assez correct mais beaucoup moins performant qu’en Afrique du Sud. Le manque de stabilité du réseau internet crée parfois des perturbations. Informez- vous d’avance et gardez suffisamment d’espèces avec vous, surtout pour payer l’essence.
Santé
Risque de malaria. Merci de consulter votre medecin avant votre départ.
Réseau routier
La location d’un véhicule type 4×4 est nécessaire pour un voyage en Botswana. Les routes dans les parcs nationaux ne sont pas goudronnés. Un minimum de connaissance de conduit «hors piste» est nécessaire (passage à guet, sable et enlisement). A l’extérieur des parcs le réseau routier a été beaucoup amélioré depuis les 10 dernières années.

Informations et réservation

1 + 9 =

Contact

Mokamoka Safaris

Silke Bergerhoff - Safari Consultant
+ 262 692 30 11 11
sbergerhoff@mokamoka-safaris.com

Jerôme Phoeun - Safari Consultant
+ 262 692 26 77 99
jphoeun@mokamoka-safaris.com